1973 – The Academy institutes the office of “president”

In 1973, the Academy instituted the office of “president” –   an individual who would link the Academy’s two divisions and serve as its figurehead.

All of science and scholarship

The Academy has long consisted of two divisions: members belong either to the Humanities and Social Sciences Division or the Science Division. Together, the two divisions cover all of science and scholarship.

Since 1 January 2017 the society consists of four domains:

  • Behavioural Sciences, Social Sciences and Law Domain
  • Humanities Domain
  • Medical, Biomedical and Health Sciences Domain
  • Natural Sciences and Engineering Domain

The four domains have always operated independently of each other (except during the annual Joint Meeting or in the event of cross-disciplinary theme meetings); each has its own chairperson.

Mediator and figurehead

Hendrik Casimir, a renowned physicist and for many years the director of the Philips Physics Laboratory, became the Academy’s first president in 1973. Casimir had gained fame for predicting in 1948 that two uncharged metallic plates placed a few micrometers apart in a vacuum would nevertheless be attracted to each other, based on quantum field theory. The Casimir effect was later demonstrated experimentally.

The office of president

The president of the Academy serves a three-year term and is appointed alternately from the ranks of the Behavioural Sciences, Social Sciences and Law Domain & Humanities Domain and the Medical, Biomedical and Health Sciences Domain and Natural Sciences and Engineering Domain. The current president is Professor Ineke Sluiter, professor of Greek Language and Literature.

H. Casimir S. Dresden A.M. Donner
D. de Wied P. Drenth P. Zandbergen
R. Reneman W.J.M. Levelt

Prof. Robbert Dijkgraaf
President 2008-2012

Hans Clevers
Prof. prof. Hans (J.C.) Clevers
President 2012-2012

Prof. José (J.F.T.M.) van Dijck
President 2015-2018

Prof. W. van Saarloos (Wim)
President 2018-2020

Prof. I. Sluiter (Ineke)
President 202