The Academy confers a number of important scientific and scholarly honours. In addition to awarding its own distinctions, such as the Academy Professor Prizel and the Academy Education Prize, it also assembles juries and organises award ceremonies for various honours, for example the Heineken Prizes.

Academy Medal

The Academy Medal is awarded to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution in the Netherlands to the advancement of science in the broadest sense of the word. The Medal was established in 1983.

Academy Professor Prize

The Academy awards the Academy Professor Prize to researchers between 54 and 59 years of age for exceptional achievement throughout the course of their careers. The Prize is intended as a lifetime achievement award.

Ammodo KNAW Award

The Ammodo KNAW Award was established by the Ammodo Foundation and the Academy in 2014 to encourage unfettered fundamental scientific research. The Ammodo KNAW Award is granted once every two years and covers all scientific disciplines.

Bakhuis Roozeboom Medal

Every four years, the Academy awards a medal to a researcher who has made a significant contribution to phase theory.

Buys Ballot Medal

The Buys Ballot Medal was established to promote advancements in meteorology and is awarded once every ten years.

Christiaan Huygens Science Award

The Christiaan Huygens Science Award encourages innovative research in the disciplines in which Christiaan Huygens excelled. The award is presented in a different discipline each year. In 2017, the award will be focusing on actuarial studies and econometrics.

De la Court Prize

The Academy awards the De la Court Prize to an individual every other year for conducting research without financial reward, for example a large body of work, life achievement or outstanding accomplishment in the humanities or social sciences.

Descartes-Huygens Prize

The French and Dutch governments established the Descartes-Huygens Prize in 1995 to draw the attention of the public and researchers to Franco-Dutch relations in science and scholarship.
The Prize is also intended as an impulse for further development of the scientific careers of the laureates. By agreement, the Netherlands selects the French candidate for the prize, and France selects the Dutch candidate. 

Academy Education Prize

The Academy awards the Academy Education Prize to emphasise and encourage quality in Dutch education. Science and scholarship depend on inspired teaching, both now and in the future.

Gilles Holst Medal

The Gilles Holst Fund medal is awarded in the field of applied chemistry and physics.

Heineken Prizes

The Heineken Prizes are international prizes awarded every other year to five internationally renowned scientists and one highly talented Dutch visual artist for their great merits to science, Dutch art and society.

Heineken Young Scientists Awards

The Heineken Young Scientists Awards are intended to give talented young scientists and scholars extra encouragement. They are presented simultaneously with the Heineken Prizes to talented young researchers whose outstanding work sets an example for other young scientists and scholars.

Hendrik Muller Prize for Behavioural and Social Sciences

The Dr Hendrik Muller Prize for Behavioural and Social Sciences is awarded every other year to a researcher or group of researchers who has made a significant or valuable contribution to the behavioural and social sciences.

KNAW Beijerinck Prizes for Virology

KNAW Bob Pinedo Cancer Care Award 2016

The KNAW Bob Pinedo Cancer Care Award, formerly known as the Pinedo Cancer Care Prize, is a prestigious biennial award for internationally acclaimed researchers in cancer care.

Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings

Each year the Lindau Foundation organises a six-day meeting that brings together thirty Nobel laureates and five hundred outstanding young scientists from more than fifty countries. The Academy selects the participating scientists from the Netherlands.

Lorentz Medal

The Lorentz Medal draws attention to ground-breaking research in theoretical physics.