Ammodo KNAW Award

The Ammodo KNAW Award was established by the Ammodo Foundation and the Academy in 2014 to encourage unfettered fundamental scientific research. The Ammodo KNAW Award is granted once every two years and covers all scientific disciplines.

The Ammodo KNAW Award consists of eight prizes, each worth 300,000 euros. The recipients may spend this amount at their discretion to fund either their own fundamental scientific research or a research project that they are supervising.


  • Biomedical sciences
  • Humanities
  • Natural sciences
  • Social sciences

A maximum of two researchers may receive the award in each of these disciplines.

Who is it for?

Eligible candidates for the Ammodo KNAW Award are internationally acclaimed researchers working at a Dutch university or research institute who received their PhDs no more than fifteen years previously.

Nomination and award

Researchers can be nominated for the Ammodo KNAW Award by:

  • executive boards of all Dutch universities
  • faculty deans of all Dutch universities
  • directors of Dutch research institutes
  • at least three members of the KNAW and/or the Young KNAW acting together
  • the board of the National Network of Female Professors

Nominations for the Ammodo KNAW Award 2017 are not being accepted at this time. The Ammodo KNAW Award was presented for the second time in March 2017.

For more information about the Ammodo KNAW Award please see the Ammodo KNAW Award website.