Ammodo Science Award

The Ammodo Science Award encourages unfettered, fundamental scientific research and covers all scientific disciplines divided into four domains: Biomedical Sciences, Humanities, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences. The Award serves as recognition of scientific achievements by outstanding, internationally acclaimed mid-career researchers.

The Award consists of eight prizes, each worth 300,000 euros, made available by Ammodo. The recipients may spend this amount at their discretion to fund fundamental scientific research.

The bi-annual Award was established in 2014 by the Ammodo Foundation and the Academy. As of this third edition, the Academy is solely responsible for the nomination and selection procedure. The name has been changed into Ammodo Science Award. The Awards are made available by Ammodo who also takes care of the festive Award Ceremony.


  • Biomedical sciences
  • Humanities
  • Natural sciences
  • Social sciences

A maximum of two researchers may receive the award in each of these domains.

Who is it for?

Eligible candidates for the Ammodo Science Award are internationally acclaimed researchers working at a Dutch university or research institute who received their PhDs no more than fifteen years previously.

Laureates are expected to make an innovative contribution to unfettered fundamental scientific research.

Nomination and award ceremony

Researchers can be nominated for the Ammodo Science Award by:

  • executive boards of all Dutch universities
  • faculty deans of all Dutch universities
  • directors of Dutch research institutes
  • at least three members of the Academy and/or The Young Academy acting together
  • the board of the National Network of Female Professor

Nominations for the next round may be submitted from June 2020.

For more information please see the Ammodo Science Award website.