M.W. Beijerinck Virology Prize

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) awards the M.W. Beijerinck Virology Prize every two years to an internationally recognised researcher in the field of virology.

The M.W. Beijerinck Virology Prize, established in 1965, consists of a medal engraved with the image of M.W. Beijerinck and a monetary award of 35.000 euros.


Virology, in the broadest sense of the word.

Who is it for?

Internationally recognised researchers with a groundbreaking contribution to scientific research in the field of virology in the broadest sense of the word, who have an appointment at a university or research institute in the Netherlands or elsewhere.

Nomination and award ceremony

The following persons can nominate candidates for the M.W. Beijerinck Virology Prize:

  • Members of the Academy
  • Boards of management and deans of universities in the Netherlands
  • Directors of research institutes in the Netherlands
  • Individual professors from universities in the Netherlands and elsewhere
  • Academies and other scientific or scholarly institutions in the Netherlands and elsewhere

Please use the nomination form (and attach a Curriculum Vitae). The completed form can be submitted up to and including 1 November 2020 to email address: wetenschapsfondsen@knaw.nl

The award ceremony will be held in Spring 2021 during the Dutch Annual Virology Symposium.