Christiaan Huygens Science Award

The Christiaan Huygens Science Award encourages innovative research in the disciplines in which Christiaan Huygens excelled. The award is presented in a different discipline each year. In 2021, the award will be focusing on actuarial studies and econometrics.

The award was established in 1998 and is presented annually to a researcher whose doctoral dissertation has made an innovative contribution to a specified discipline.

The winner receives a certificate, a bronze statuette of Christiaan Huygens, and a tax-free monetary award of EUR 10,000. The award is funded by the Christiaan Huygens Science Award Foundation and various enterprises and institutions that have an affinity for the specific discipline concerned.

The Academy appoints the jury and oversees the nomination procedure.


  • Mathematics (in particular actuarial studies and econometrics)
  • Physics
  • Space Sciences

Who is it for?

A researcher at a Dutch university who defended his or her doctoral dissertation in actuarial studies and econometrics.

Nomination and award

Nominations for this round are no longer being accepted. Next round for this Prize opens in 2022.