Heineken Prize for History

The Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for History rewards research excellence in the field of history.

The Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for History was established in 1990 and is awarded every two years.

The Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for History consists of a trophy featuring the Greek muse of history, Clio (designed by Simons Juweliers of The Hague), and USD 200,000. The prize is funded by the Alfred Heineken Fondsen Foundation.



Who is the prize intended for?

An active, top international researcher in the field of history whose scientific work still shows significant promise.

Nomination and awards ceremony

The following can nominate researchers for the Dr. H.P. Heineken Prize for History:

  • Individual professors from universities in the Netherlands and elsewhere;
  • Members of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences;
  • Boards of management and deans of universities in the Netherlands;
  • Directors of research institutes in the Netherlands;
  • Academies and other scientific or scholarly institutions in the Netherlands and elsewhere;
  • The board of the Dutch Network of Women Professors (Landelijk Netwerk Vrouwelijke Hoogleraren).

The deadline for nominating candidates has passed.

The awards ceremony will be held late 2022.

The next call for nominations for this Prize will open in 2023.