Lorentz Medal

The Lorentz Medal draws attention to ground-breaking research in theoretical physics.

The Lorentz Medal is awarded every four years to a researcher who has made an important contribution to the development of theoretical physics.

The award was established in 1925 to mark the fiftieth anniversary of Prof. Hendrik Antoon Lorentz's doctorate. Hendrik Antoon Lorentz (1853-1928) was a member of the Academy. He was the founding father of theoretical physics in the Netherlands and won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1902.

The laureate will receive a medal engraved with the image of Hendrik Antoon Lorentz. 



Who is it for?

Internationally renowned researchers in the field of theoretical physics 


The following parties may nominate candidates for the Prize:

  • Boards of management and deans of universities in the Netherlands or elsewhere;
  • Directors of scientific research institutes in the Netherlands or elsewhere;
  • Individual researchers at universities or scientific institutions in the Netherlands or elsewhere;
  • Science academies and other scientific institutions in the Netherlands or elsewhere

The deadline for this round has passed. The Award ceremony will be held on 10 November 2022 in Leiden, the Netherlands.