The Academy awards a number of important prizes recognising outstanding achievement in science and scholarship. In addition to its own awards, such as the Academy Medal, the Academy Education Prize and the Academy Early Career Award, there are prizes for which the Academy organises the jury process, such as for the Ammodo Science Award and the Christiaan Huygens Science Award.

In some cases, the Academy also organises the award ceremony, such as the international Heineken Prizes and the Dr Hendrik Muller Prize for the Humanities and Social Sciences. There are also joint prizes such as the National Postdoc Prize of the Young Academy and the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities and the Descartes Huygens Prize, a Dutch-French collaboration.

Academy Education Prize

The Academy awards the Academy Education Prize to emphasise and encourage quality in Dutch education. Science and scholarship depend on inspired teaching, both now and in the future.

Academy Medal

The Academy Medal is awarded every other year to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to (the advancement of) science in the Netherlands in the broadest sense. The Medal was established in 1983.

Ammodo Science Award

The Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research encourages unfettered, fundamental scientific research and covers all scientific disciplines divided into four domains: Biomedical Sciences, Humanities, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences. The Award serves as recognition of scientific achievements by outstanding, internationally acclaimed mid-career researchers.

Bakhuis Roozeboom Medal

Every four years, the Academy awards a medal to a researcher who has made a significant contribution to phase theory.

Beijerinck Prizes for Virology

The Beijerinck Virology Prize and Beijerinck Premium are awarded every two years in the field of virology.

Buys Ballot Medal

The Buys Ballot Medal was established to promote advancements in meteorology and is awarded once every ten years.

Christiaan Huygens Science Award

The Christiaan Huygens Science Award encourages innovative research in the disciplines in which Christiaan Huygens excelled. The award is presented in a different discipline each year. In 2021, the award will be focusing on actuarial studies and econometrics.

De la Court Prize

The Academy awards the De la Court Prize every other year to an individual for conducting research in the humanities or social sciences without financial reward and  outside the regular academic platforms.

Descartes-Huygens Prize

The Descartes-Huygens Prize is intended to support the scientific/scholarly career of an excellent researcher in Franco-Dutch research. Each year two prize winners are selected: the Netherlands selects the French winner and France selects the Dutch winner. 

Dr Hendrik Muller Prize

The Dr Hendrik Muller Prize is awarded every two years to a mid-career researcher working in the Netherlands, who has a sustainable link with the Netherlands and has made an outstanding contribution to the humanities or social sciences.

Gilles Holst Medal

Every four years, the Gilles Holst Fund awards a medal to a scientist working in the Netherlands who has made significant contributions to applied physics or chemistry, preferably at the interface between both disciplines.

Heineken Prizes for Sciences and Art

The Heineken Prizes are international prizes awarded every other year to five internationally renowned scientists and one highly talented Dutch visual artist for their great merits to science, Dutch art and society.

Heineken Young Scientists Awards

The Heineken Young Scientists Awards are intended to give the next generation of talented researchers extra encouragement. They are presented simultaneously with the international Heineken Prizes to promising young researchers whose outstanding work sets an example for other young scientists and scholars.

KNAW Bob Pinedo Cancer Care Award

The KNAW Bob Pinedo Cancer Care Award, formerly known as the Pinedo Cancer Care Prize, is a prestigious biennial award for internationally acclaimed researchers in (translational) cancer research and compassionate cancer patient care.

KNAW Early Career Award

The KNAW Early Career Award is intended to showcase talented PhD graduates, and to provide them with support and encouragement. The Award is aimed at researchers at the start of their career who are capable of developing innovative and original research ideas.

Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings

Each year the Lindau Foundation organises a six-day meeting that brings together dozens of Nobel laureates and hundreds of outstanding young scientists from more than fifty countries. The Academy nominates Dutch students and post-docs to attend the meetings. The Lindau Committee selects the participants.

Lorentz Medal

The Lorentz Medal draws attention to ground-breaking research in theoretical physics.