M.W. Beijerinck-Virologiefonds

The Beijerinck Virology Prize and Beijerinck Premium are awarded every two years in the field of virology.

The Beijerinck Virology Prize was established in 1965 and consists of medal engraved with the image of M.W. Beijerinck and a monetary award of EUR 35,000.

The Beijerinck Premium has been awarded since 2002. The prize consists of a monetary award (EUR 25,000) that may be spent on research at the recipient’s discretion. In this case, research is considered to include courses, conferences, and study trips, for example.

The Beijerinck Prizes are established by the M.W. Beijerinck Virology Fund, founded by Mr and Mrs L.E. den Dooren de Jong in memory of the virologist Martinus Willem Beijerinck.