Academy Colloquium 'FIRSED2013 - the FIR-submm SEDs of galaxies with and without active nucleus'

3 April 2013  -  5 April 2013
Add event:

What do the spectral energy distributions (SEDs) tell us about the mechanisms/processes at work, forming and shaping galaxies in their environments through cosmic time? Focus is on farIR-submm, in its relation to the full SED, that is radio, near-IR, optical, uv and X-ray. Reporting and discussing observations with the successful Spitzer, Herschel, and WISE missions and in anticipation of ALMA.

A 3-day Colloquium at the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences in Amsterdam, preceded by a 1-day Masterclass was held April 2-5, 2013. The Colloquium  presentations and some photographs can be found on

Confirmed invited speakers

  • Prof. Dr David Alexander (Durham University, United Kingdom)
  • Dr Jennifer Donley (Los Alamos Natl. Labs., United States)
  • Dr David Elbaz (CEA, IRFU, France)
  • Prof. Dr Aaron Evans (NRAO and University of Virginia, United States)
  • Dr Martin Haas (Bochum University, Germany)
  • Prof. Dr Rob Kennicutt (Cambridge University, United Kingdom)
  • Dr Carol Lonsdale (NRAO, United States)
  • Prof. Dr Sylvain Veilleux (University of Maryland, United States)
  • Prof. Dr Daniel Weedman (Cornell University, United States)
  • Prof. Dr Edward Wright (UCLA, United States)


  • Prof. Dr P.D. (Peter) Barthel, (Kapteyn Institute, Univ. of Groningen, The Netherlands - chairman)
  • Prof. dr. K. Meisenheimer (Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie, Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Prof. Dr D.B. Sanders (Institute for Astronomy, Univ. of Hawaii, Honolulu, United States)
  • Dr B.J. Wilkes (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States)

Confirmed Participants

  • Dr Colin Boryss (California Institute of Technology)
  • Dr Karina Caputi (University of Groningen)
  • Dr Elisabete da Cunha (Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie)
  • Dr Sophia Dai (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
  • Dr Dan Dicken (Université Paris-Sud)
  • Dr Guillaume Drouart (Institut D'astrophysique de Paris)
  • Dr Alastair Edge (Durham University)
  • Dr George Helou (California Institute of Technology)
  • Prof. Thijs van der Hulst (University of Groningen)
  • Dr Brent Groves (Max-Planck Institute for Astrophysics)
  • Dr Joanna Kuraszkiewicz (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
  • Dr Mark Lacy (NRAO)
  • MSc Nick Lee (University of Hawaii)
  • Dr Christian Leipski (Max-Planck Institut für Astronomie)
  • Dr Elisabeth Lusso (Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie)
  • Dr Dieter Lutz (MPE)
  • Prof. Matt Malkan (UCLA Astronomy Division)
  • Dr Rowin Meijerink (University of Groningen)
  • Leah Morabito (Leiden University)
  • Prof. Raffaella Morganti (ASTRON)
  • Dr Agnese Del Moro (Durham University)
  • Prof. Hagai Netzer (Tel Aviv University)
  • Dr Mathew Page (University College London)
  • Prof Reynier Peletier (University of Groningen)
  • MSc Pece Podigachoski (University of Groningen)
  • Prof. Huub Röttgering (Leiden University)
  • Prof. Nick Scoville (Caltech Institute of Technology)
  • Prof. Ian Smail (Durham University)
  • Dr Luigi Spinoglio (Istituto di Astrofisica e Planetologia Spaziali – INAF)
  • Prof. Clive Tadhunter (Sheffield University)
  • Dr Markos Trichas (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
  • Dr Vivian U (University of California, Riverside)
  • Dr Steve Willner (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
  • Dr Paul van der Werf (Leiden University)
  • Christian Westhues (Ruhr-University Bochum)