Descartes-Huygens Prize Ceremony

26 January 2015 from 16:00 to 17:30 hrs
KNAW, Het Trippenhuis, Kloveniersburgwal 29, 1011 JV Amsterdam
00 31 20 551 987
Add event:

Physicists Ludwik Leibler and Willem Vos will receive the Descartes-Huygens Prize. They have been awarded the prize for their outstanding research and their contribution to Franco-Dutch relations.

The Descartes-Huygens Prize (EUR 23,000) is intended to cover the cost of their research residence in the Netherlands and France respectively.

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) has awarded the annual Descartes-Huygens Prize since 1995.


  • Opening by Ben Feringa, Vice President of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW)
  • Presentation of the Prize to Willem Vos by Laurent Pic, ambassador of France
  • Presentation of the Prize to Ludwik Leibler by Ben Feringa
  • Short lecture by Willem Vos, Traité de la Lumière? Traitons ces photons!
  • Short lecture by Ludwik Leiber, Physics, chemistry and technology, soft matter without borders (see the ESPCI website for more information on the research of Ludwik Leiber)
  • Interview with the laureates by Margot Dijkgraaf

 Left to right: Ben Feringa, Ludwik Leibler, Willem Vos, Laurent Pic