Evening of the Abel Prize 2021

7 April 2022 from 19:00 to 21:00 hrs
Hybrid: online and live at Trippenhuis Building, Kloveniersburgwal 29, Amsterdam
Add event:

The Abel Prize 2021 was awarded to the Israeli computer scientist Avi Wigderson and the Hungarian mathematician László Lovász. They received the prize for their foundational contributions to theoretical computer science and discrete mathematics, and their leading role in shaping them into central fields of modern mathematics.

KNAW has been organising the Evening of the Abel Prize since 2018. The Evening of the Abel Prize 2021 is special because both prize winners will be present and will talk about their work for a general audience. 


  • Frank den Hollander, Professor of Probability Theory at the University of Leiden – Welcome
  • Harry Buhrman, Professor of Algorithms, Complexity Theory, and Quantum Computing at the University of Amsterdam – Introduction to the work of Avi Wigderson
  • Avi Wigderson, Professor of Mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton - Imitation Games (read the abstract here)
  • Lex Schrijver, Fellow at CWI and Emeritus-Professor of Mathematics at the University of Amsterdam  – Introduction to the work of László Lovász
  • László Lovász, Professor of Mathematics, Eötvös University, Budapest – 

    What is a graph limit and what is it good for? 

Lecture at CWI

These lectures are paired up with lectures by the two laureates at Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI). The lectures at KNAW are aimed at a general public, while those at CWI are directed towards scientists. 

The two events are supported by NETWORKS and QSC.