Symposium 30 years Heineken prize for Art

The future of patronage for the arts, a series of prospects for the future

20 September 2018 from 13:00 to 17:00 hrs
+31 40 238 1000
Add event:

This year the Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Art celebrates its thirtieth anniversary with an exhibition of all sixteen winners of the prize in the Van Abbemuseum. In the context of this exhibition a symposium will be held on 20 September, looking at the history and future of the prize in the broader landscape of patronage for the arts. 

When the prize was awarded for the first time in 1988 to the painter Toon Verhoef, patronage for the arts was very different from what it is today. Concepts such as “crowdfunding” did not exist yet, and the art world had a provincial character, compared to the current globalization in the sector. This raises the question of what challenges and changes will confront the patronage of the arts in the next thirty years.

What will be the dynamic between public and private actors? What will be the role played by web technology? And obviously, what place will there be for a prize such as the Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for the Arts in tomorrow’s art world? These questions will be dealt with thematically in a keynote lecture and three discussion rounds with stimulating examples. 


  • 12.30 p.m.: Registration 
  • 1.00 p.m.: Lecture
  • 5.00 p.m.: Drinks 

For more information and registration please find the website of Van Abbemuseum.

Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for Art

Alfred Heineken established the prize that bears his name to recognise and encourage exceptionally talented artists. The Foundation awarded the prize for the first time in 1988 and since then every other year to an outstanding artist living and working in the Netherlands. The prize consists of a sculpture, a publication and/or exhibition (budgeted at EUR 50,000) and a cash prize of EUR 50,000. Previous laureates include Peter Struycken, Mark Manders, Barbara Visser, Job Koelewijn, Daan van Golden, Aernout Mik, Guido Geelen, Wendelien van Oldenborgh and Yvonne Dröge Wendel.