Charlene de Carvalho-Heineken presents Heineken Prizes for Arts and Sciences

27 September 2018

This afternoon, Charlene de Carvalho-Heineken presented the Heineken Prizes for Arts and Sciences to biomedical scientist Peter Carmeliet (University of Leuven), biologist Paul Hebert (University of Guelph), neuroscientist Nancy Kanwisher (MIT), historian John McNeill (Georgetown University), biophysicist Xiaowei Zhuang (Harvard University) and visual artist Erik van Lieshout.

Heineken Prizes for Arts and Sciences

The Heineken Prizes are the most prestigious international science prizes of the Netherlands. They are awarded every other year. The laureates are selected by juries assembled by the Academy and made up of leading Dutch and foreign scientists and scholars.
Each of the Heineken science prizes is USD 200,000. The Heineken Prize for Art is EUR 100,000; the recipient must use half this amount to produce a publication or mount an exhibition.
The Heineken Prizes are named after Dr Henry P. Heineken (1886-1971); Dr Alfred H. Heineken (1923-2002) and Charlene de Carvalho-Heineken (1954), chairman of the Dr H.P. Heineken Foundation, the Dr A.H. Heineken Foundations and the C.L. de Carvalho-Heineken Foundation, which fund the prizes.

Laureaten Heinekenprijzen 2018 (lores)

From left: Erik van Lieshout, Xiaowei Zhuang, Peter Carmeliet, Paul Hebert, John McNeill, Nancy Kanwisher, Charlene de Carvalho-Heineken, Wim van Saarloos  (Image: Frank van Beek) (Click on photo for a high-resolution image)

Peter Carmeliet, Professor of Medicine at the University of Leuven (Belgium), is receiving the Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for Medicine 2018 for his research into the effects of growth factors on endothelial and nerve cells and for his efforts to develop treatments for vascular and neurological disorders based on his research findings.


icon_downl_generiek.gifLaudation: English

Paul Hebert, Research Chair in Molecular Biodiversity at the University of Guelph (Canada), is receiving the Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for Environmental Sciences 2018 for his pivotal contribution to developing a genetic barcode capable of classifying every biological species on Earth.


icon_downl_generiek.gifLaudation: English

Nancy Kanwisher, Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge (USA), is receiving the C.L. de Carvalho-Heineken Prize for Cognitive Science 2018 for her highly original, meticulous and cogent research on the functional organisation of the human brain.


Laudation: English

John McNeill, Professor of History at Georgetown University in Washington DC (USA), is receiving the Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for History 2018 for his important work in integrating two recent branches of the study of history: global history and environmental history. 


icon_downl_generiek.gifLaudation: English

Xiaowei Zhuang, Professor of Physics, Chemistry and Chemical Biology at Harvard University in Cambridge (USA), is receiving the Dr H.P. Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics 2018 for her groundbreaking work on developing high-resolution imaging methods and their use in investigating a variety of fundamental biological problems.


icon_downl_generiek.gifLaudation: English

Erik van Lieshout,  visual artist, is receiving the Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for Art 2018. The jury has praised Erik van Lieshout’s work for its radical, personal and confrontational nature.

icon_video_bruin.gifVideo (in Dutch with subtitles)

icon_downl_generiek.gifLaudation: English

Heineken Young Scientists Awards

Four Heineken Young Scientists Awards (10,000 euros each) were also presented to four promising young Dutch scientists: Peter Bijl (earth sciences), Joost Snijder (biochemistry), Maartje van der Woude (sociology of law) and Marie-José van Tol (neuropsychology).
The Heineken Young Scientists Awards offer important encouragement to talented young scientists who set an example for other young researchers and scientists.

Laureaten Heineken Young Scientists Awards 2018 (lores)

From left: Louisa Brassey, Marie-José van Tol, Joost Snijder, Peter Bijl, Tineke Cleiren, Martin Moerings, Alexander de Carvalho. Martin Moerings and Tineke Cleiren accepted the award on behalf of Maartje van der Woude (Image: Frank van Beek) (Click on the photo for a high-resolution image)

Peter Bijl (34), Assistant Professor at Utrecht University, is receiving the Heineken Young Scientists Award in the Natural Sciences 2018 for researching the relationship between atmosphere, oceans and ecosystems in the Antarctic over the past 80 million years.
Joost Snijder (29), independent researcher, is receiving the Heineken Young Scientists Award in the Medical/Biomedical Sciences 2018 for using advanced microscopic techniques to study the molecular mechanisms of viruses.
Maartje van der Woude (37), Professor of Law and Society at Leiden University, is receiving the Heineken Young Scientists Award in the Humanities 2018 for investigating the interplay between the law and public debate concerning such issues as terrorism, migration, and cross-border crime.
Marie-José van Tol (37), Assistant Professor and researcher at University Medical Centre Groningen, is receiving the Heineken Young Scientists Award in the Social Sciences 2018 for studying the many factors that contribute to depression and other psychiatric disorders.

icon_downl_generiek.gifLaudations Heineken Young Scientists Awards: English