Jos van der Meer new EASAC president

17 December 2013

Jos van der Meer, former vice-president of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, will assume his duties as president of the European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC) starting in 2014.

JWM_van_der_Meer.jpgEASAC consists of the national science academies of the European Union Member States. By joining forces in EASAC, they can collaborate on advising EU policymakers. EASAC has published a series of influential reports in recent years focusing on a variety of subjects, including biofuels, genetic modification, resistance to antibiotics, and extreme weather events. EASAC thus provides a means for the collective voice of European science to be heard by the European Commission and the European Parliament.

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences is an active member of EASAC.

Van der Meer succeeds Sir Brian Heap, EASAC president from 2010 to 2013.