Press release

Marileen Dogterom elected as new Academy President

2 November 2021

Marileen Dogterom, Professor of Bionanoscience at TU Delft, will succeed Ineke Sluiter as President of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences on 1 June 2022. She is currently Vice President. Dogterom is being appointed for a period of three years, and will combine the presidency with her scientific work.

Marileen Dogterom (age 53) is an internationally acclaimed researcher. She headed the Bionanoscience Department of the Kavli Institute of Nanoscience in Delft for a considerable period. She is one of the pioneers in the field of biomolecular and cellular physics. Her research focuses on the cytoskeleton: the microtubules that give living cells their shape and mechanical function. Dogterom leads a national consortium BaSyC (“Building a Synthetic Cell”) as one of the means of attempting to understand the processes of life by building an artificial cell. Her work has been recognised by an ERC Synergy Grant, one of the largest European research grants, and the Spinoza Prize in 2018.

Foto van Marileen Dogterom. Fotografie door Rafael Philippen

Source: NWO. Photograph by Rafael Philippen.

Within the Academy, Marileen Dogterom is very active, as vice-president and as administrative coordinator of all Academy representatives in forums outside the Netherlands. She has all the qualities to be the leading light of Dutch science as president of the Academy. Marileen Dogterom has a warm heart for scientists of all generations and backgrounds and a good eye for the preconditions needed for the next generation of scientists to be successful. In addition to ensuring that Dutch science remains future-proof, she plans to work on more direct ways of channelling the expertise of scientists from all disciplines towards policy on major themes such as climate and health.

Academy Board

On 1 February 2022, Clara Mulder, Professor of Demography and Space at the University of Groningen, will join the Academy Board as a new member. She will also be chair of the behavioural sciences, social sciences and law domain. She succeeds Linda Steg, Professor of Environmental Psychology at the same university, who will be leaving the Academy board on 1 November.

As of 1 November 2021, the Academy Board comprises the following members:

Ineke Sluiter (President), Marileen Dogterom (Vice President and Foreign Representative), Ivo Giesen (Vice President and General Secretary), Martin van Hees, Sjaak Neefjes, Ton van der Steen and Clara Mulder (who will be joining as of 1 February 2022) .