New Academy Board and members at Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

17 May 2011

A new Board will be taking office at the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) on 1 June 2011. Robbert Dijkgraaf will continue as President and Chairman of the Board. The names of the new members of the Academy have also been announced; they will be officially installed on Monday 26 September.

New Academy Board

For the next four years, the Academy Board will be made up of the following persons:

  • Robbert Dijkgraaf (born 1960, President), Distinguished University Professor, University of Amsterdam
  • Pearl Dykstra (born 1956, Vice-president), Professor of Empirical Sociology and Kinship Demography, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Ben Feringa (born 1951, Vice-president), Professor of Organic Chemistry, Groningen University 
  • Jan Willem Gunning (born 1949, General Secretary), Professor of Economics, VU University Amsterdam
  • Albert van den Berg (born 1957), Professor of Sensor Systems for Biomedical and Environmental Applications, University of Twente
  • Christine Mummery (1953), hoogleraar ontwikkelingsbiologie, Leids Universitair Medisch Centrum 
  • Ellen van Wolde (born 1954), Professor of Theology, Radboud University Nijmegen

New members

The members of the Academy have elected twenty new members, four corresponding members, and two foreign members. Elections take place each year, with selection being based on scientific/scholarly performance and recommendation by the scientific/scholarly community.

Humanities and Social Sciences Division

  • Kees Aarts (born 1959), Professor of Political Science, University of Twente Remieg Aerts (born 1957), Professor of Post-mediaeval Political History, Radboud University Nijmegen
  • Josine Blok (born 1953), Professor of Ancient History and Classical Civilization, Utrecht University
  • Naomi Ellemers (born 1963), Professor of Social Psychology of Organisations, Leiden University
  • Michael Faure (born 1958), Professor of Comparative Private Law and Economics, Erasmus University Rotterdam and Professor of Comparative and International Environmental Law, Maastricht University
  • Philip Hans Franses (born 1963), Professor of Applied Econometrics and Professor of Market Research, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Aart Liefbroer (born 1958), Head of Social Demography Department at the Netherlands Interdisciplinary Demographic Institute (NIDI-KNAW) and Professor of Demography of Young Adults and Intergenerational Transmission, VU University Amsterdam
  • Lodi Nauta (born 1966), Professor of the History of Philosophy, Groningen University
  • Piet Rietveld (born 1952), Professor of Transport Economics, VU University Amsterdam
  • Patti Valkenburg (born 1958), Professor of Youth and Media Studies, University of Amsterdam
  • Peter Wattel (born 1956), part-time Professor of European Tax Law, University of Amsterdam

Science Division (mathematics and physics, life sciences and technical sciences)

  • Jaap Verweij (born 1953), Professor of Medical Oncology, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Arthur Wilde (born 1956), Professor of Cardiology, University of Amsterdam
  • Jim van Os (born 1960), Professor of Psychiatric Epidemiology, Maastricht University
  • Philip Scheltens (born 1957), Professor of Cognitive Neurology, VU University Amsterdam
  • René Janssen (born 1959), Professor of Molecular Materials and Nanosystems, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Bert Weckhuysen (born 1968), Professor of Inorganic Chemistry and Catalysis, Utrecht University
  • Marcel Dicke (born 1957), Professor of Entomology, Wageningen University & Research Centre
  • Jan Bergstra (born 1951), Professor of Informatics, University of Amsterdam
  • Oscar Kuipers (born 1956), Professor of Molecular Genetics, Groningen University

Corresponding members

Corresponding members are Dutch scientists and scholars who work abroad or foreign researchers who have been awarded a doctorate by a Dutch university.

  • Jean Pieters (born 1962), Professor of Biochemistry, Biozentrum, University of Basel
  • Andre Geim (born 1958), Professor of Physics, University of Manchester
  • Pauline Schaap (born 1953), Professor of Developmental Biology, University of Dundee
  • Arno Kuijlaars (born 1963), Professor of Mathematics, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

Foreign members

Foreign members are non-Dutch scientists and scholars who primarily work abroad.

  • Charles Dinarello, Professor of Medicine, University of Colorado Denver
  • Paul Brakefield, Professor of Evolutionary Biology, University of Cambridge