Go directly to: navigation
Go directly to: content


For press related questions, please see the press contact page for more information

  • 22 June 2022

    English website under construction

    More English pages coming soon.

    Read more
  • 16 June 2022

    Brenda Penninx new vice president Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

    Brenda Penninx is to be the new vice president of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences effective 1 September. She succeeds Marileen Dogterom, who became president of the Academy on 1 June. Brenda Penninx is professor of Psychiatric Epidemiology at VU Amsterdam and Amsterdam UMC (VUmc location) and will combine this position with her work as vice president of the Academy.

    Read more
  • 2 June 2022

    Lorentz Medal awarded to physicist Daan Frenkel

    Daan Frenkel, emeritus professor at the University of Cambridge, is receiving the award from the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences for his pioneering and innovative work in theoretical physics.

    Read more
  • 22 April 2022

    National platform for Ukrainian scientists

    Knowledge institutions and the AcademicTransfer career platform are launching the nationwide platform for Ukrainian refugee scientists: AcademicsNLforUkraine. This is where the national offer of guest workplaces and research facilities, such as labs and workshops, will be located for temporary use by Ukrainian researchers.

    Read more
  • 4 March 2022

    Dutch knowledge institutions suspend partnerships with Russia and Belarus

    The Russian military assault on Ukraine has profoundly shocked knowledge institutions in the Netherlands, as represented by Universities of the Netherlands, the Netherlands Association of Universities of Applied Sciences, the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Dutch Research Council, the Dutch Federation of University Medical Centres and The Young Academy.

    Read more
  • 28 February 2022

    KNAW-response to the military invasion of Ukraine

    In response to last week’s military invasion of Ukraine by Russia, the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) joins its fellow academies in All European Academies (ALLEA) and wholeheartedly underwrites the below statement made by the ALLEA presidency in support of Ukraine, its citizens, its academics, and its academic Institutions.

    Read more


Filter news

Stay informed

Subscribe and choose which newsletters you want to receive.